Random Links (and a Pretty Cover)

How in the world is it June already?  Though to be fair – I’m still wearing my winter(!) coat, so it doesn’t actually feel like summer right now.

Right, obligatory weather update done – here are a few links…

TanglewaysAndrea K Höst posted a new Julie Dillon cover – TANGLEWAYS (the sequel to her alternate-history fantasy THE PYRAMIDS OF LONDON) is out next year. Pretty.

Everyone’s heard about John Scalzi and his $3.4m 13-book 10-year deal, right?  I found this interview with him at the Washington Post a fairly comprehensive read (in addition to the posts on his own blog) – apart from the deal, he touches upon the outcome of the digital publishing experiment where he released one of his books as an e-serial last year.

One of the things that we saw is that it didn’t really have an effect on the sales of the hardcover that we could see. […] So what we actually found, we sold hundreds of thousands of individual copies of the episodes of “The Human Division.” And then when the book came out, the book sold exactly in line with previous “Old Man’s War” books. So we didn’t lose any readers. We didn’t cannibalize our readership in any significant way as far as we could see. So that was a really useful insight: There are distinct markets if you take the time to address them.

When the deal was announced, there was some talk about his backlist sales being consistently strong even if he’s never been been a #1 bestseller – i.e. when people discover his books, they tend to buy his entire backlist.  I’m more on the fence on this – while I’ve enjoyed reading his SF novels, I’ve never felt the need to read every single book he’s written.  I feel that way about several other authors – I read one of their books, wonder why I’ve not read more of their backlist, and then never actually bother to get any other books of theirs…

Spoilers for Sarah Rees Brennan‘s THE DEMON’S LEXICON (though it came out in 2009, so I’m assuming the statute of limitations on spoilers has expired? Right?) – she talks about Nick’s gender and sexuality at her Tumblr.  Interesting stuff.

And Rachel Aaron talks about her RT convention experience as a non-romance author.  Maybe I’m not reading the right blogs (or following the right people on Twitter!), but I didn’t really feel as much RT buzz as I have in previous years.  Which is kind of good, because I’d usually be dying of envy.  Any good RT recaps, anyone?

 

4 thoughts on “Random Links (and a Pretty Cover)

  1. It does feel like summer isn’t arriving, right? We got a few nice days, but so far, mostly rainy 😦 Can’t wait for the sun to show up!!

    I thought posts on RT were on the low side as well this year. Maybe it is as you said, we’re not following the right people. However, having gone to some conventions, you really don’t have time to write during them. So most posts are written afterwards and I guess some people are too busy/lazy to ^_^;

    • Hey Nath – it’s still freezing here, but hopefully some sun tomorrow! Fingers crossed and all that.

      I guess there’s a lot of real-time updates on Twitter as well. I’ve never been to a convention (well, apart from a day outing at WorldCon – and I’m guessing a romance convention is rather different!), but I can totally see your point about people not really finding time to blog during them.

Leave a Reply

