Links on a Drizzly Saturday

Despite the lack of sunshine, it’s definitely summer – or rather, that time of year when live tennis is on (free-to-air) TV.  Hence the sparseness of posts around here, which will likely continue for the next few weeks.

But it’s pouring drizzly and the tennis has stopped for the day, so a few links…

Rosie Claverton‘s post on notes she gets from her editor makes me smile – “what’s a chav” indeed.  One thing I really like about her Amy Lane mystery series is the sense of place I get from her writing, so it’s interesting to see some of the questions her (American) editor asks.

I thought this was an insightful post on female writers in fantasy by Tansy Rayner Roberts @ SF Signal.  I don’t think I’ve ever felt the lack of female fantasy authors myself – at least half, if not more, of the SFF books on my shelves are by female authors.  I sometimes wonder if that’s also because I read a lot of romance, which is so female-dominated.

Heartstrikers2-1000Not exactly breaking news, but it’s a pretty cover – Rachel Aaron‘s cover for her upcoming ONE GOOD DRAGON DESERVES ANOTHER.  I found the first book a whole load of fun, so this one’s definitely on my to-buy list.

Also, she posted her (or rather, her husband’s) number-crunching on reader retention rates across a series, which was interesting – not least because it backed up her viewpoint of “the first book sells the second, but the second sells the series”.

As a reader, I think that’s pretty accurate – the first book in a series needs to be strong in order to get me to pick up the second, but by the end of the second book, I’m either invested in the characters or not.  And if I am, then I really want to know what happens next.

Having said that, I do think my reading habits have changed over the years – it used to be really difficult for me to stop reading a series (the row of Laurell K Hamilton and Janet Evanovich books occupying prime bookshelf space being an excellent example of that).  Nowadays, I’m quite happy to abandon series halfway if the books aren’t living up to my expectations.  Any thoughts on this?

8 thoughts on “Links on a Drizzly Saturday

  1. hey Li 🙂 I’m hoping Wimbledon will be exciting!!

    I love the art for the cover of One Good Dragon Deserves Another… but the cover? Hmmmm. The title is too long and hence, it makes for a really busy cover 😦

    • I cannot wait! I’m not planning on queuing for tickets this year (though maybe ask me again next week…), but am looking forward to seeing lots of tennis. Did you catch any of the French Open (or Queens last week)?

      I see what you mean about the cover – maybe the font is a bit too white and contrasting? I don’t know – there’s a reason why I’m not a graphic designer 😉

  2. Hey Li,

    sorry for the late reply. I read your reply, but had to dash somewhere and forgot to answer. I did catch some of the French Open action. Was really rooting for Murray – he had a great season on clay. The men’s finale was dramatic LOL.

    I think the title is just sooo long and as a result, there’s so much font on cover. Perhaps if it didn’t take that much space…

  3. I’m reading One Good Dragon Deserves Another and liking it a lot. I like the cover. The font is maybe too big, but the art is nice.

    I’ve read the first book in lots of series, but didn’t like it enough to read the second. Or sometimes I read the synopsis for the second and it just doesn’t sound that interesting. I sometimes take a while to read books in my favorite series, but I usually do get to them. I do have a number of series I’ve given up on (Laurell K Hamilton is one), but after I give up I usually don’t still buy the books. I just gave a bunch of her books that I still had to my library including the last one I bought that I never finished.

    • Oooh, good to know that it’s a strong follow-up.

      I err… just finished the latest LKH, but I did borrow it from the library! You’re lucky your library accepts donated books – mine doesn’t, because apparently the processing/admin overhead means it’s not worth doing so.

      • My library has a used bookstore so that’s where I donate the books. I thought about trying to sell the books over the internet or to UBS, but most of my books sell on the internet for $.01 and UBS give credit and I’m trying to lighten my load–not add a bunch more books! So I’m very happy my library can make a little money from my books.

Leave a Reply

