Summer Reading

Oh, hey. *dusts off blog*

Actual summer weather combined with Wimbledon = not enough time to blog.  But I’ve some time to kill before the women’s final starts, so here are a few books I’ve read recently – no real standouts unfortunately.  Or maybe I’ve just been grumpy.

16045315Miranda Kenneally‘s JESSE’S GIRL: Enjoyable fluff.  Very enjoyable, mind, but also total fluff.  I was expecting a bit more after last year’s BREATHE, ANNIE, BREATHE (one of my 2014 favourites), so a bit of a letdown.  It reminded me a bit of Jennifer Echols’ BIGGEST FLIRTS (which I read last year).  That was also a sweet and fun YA romance, but with no surprises plot-wise.  I’ve been wondering if I’m expecting too much from YA romance though – I’d probably have loved both these books as a teen, so is it fair for me to be judging these through an adult lens now?

16096824Sarah J Maas‘s A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES: An impulse borrow from the library, as I hadn’t really cared for her debut, but this turned out to be a surprisingly engrossing fantasy that stitches together various fairy tales to come up with something a bit more modern, if not exactly unique.  There’s not much depth in world-building nor in characterisation, and it took me a while to settle into the book.  But things got better as the story progressed, and I needed to know how things would end.  There’s something about Feyre and her story that makes me think this would appeal to those who’ve liked Anne Bishop’s recent books.

23305614Sophie Kinsella‘s FINDING AUDREY: Another library borrow, as I wasn’t entirely sure I’d love a Kinsella YA, and this was probably a good call.  Kinsella’s well-known for her chick-lit… and this was YA chick-lit style.  One I’d recommend for a light beach read, but I never really connected with Audrey and her family.  I adore the cover though.

23403402VE Schwab‘s A DARKER SHADE OF MAGIC: I’d been hearing good things about this fantasy, and grabbed the Kindle edition when it was on sale recently.  I loved the concept of alternate-Londons, but again, never quite connected with the protagonists.  It’s also a bit on the grimdark side, which is not a mood I particularly care for.  I’m on the fence as to whether I’d pick up the next book.

7 thoughts on “Summer Reading

  1. Jesse’s Girl is on my list of books to read. I skimmed through a bit already. Kind of liked seeing Sam and Jordan again, but the story itself, dunno. Guess I’ll find out 😛 At least, I know I`ll enjoy the writing, that’s always a plus.

    I’m intrigued by Sarah J. Mass. She’s hugely popular. Tried reading her first book, but then, wasn’t in the mood for court intrigue… and that means, not in the mood for her books LOL.

    I don’t know if it’s because I read so much or if because I’ve been busy, but I find it difficult to connect with characters lately 😦

    • JESSE’S GIRL is a pretty quick read. There’s fun stuff (it’s like a YA take on a rockstar romance), but never really goes anywhere unexpected.

      I DNF’d my first Sarah Maas, IIRC, but looked up her books after I read COURT and she’s about to release the fourth in that series, so it’s obviously worked for some people. Yeah, I think I’ve to be in the right mood for her books – maybe I’ll give those books another go…

      Re connecting with characters – I think it’s just got to be good writing? I’ve pretty much figured I read for the characters, so if they’re too two-dimensional, it’s not going to work for me.

  2. Oh, between, what did you think of this year’s Wimbledon? I was so happy Vasek Pospisil got to the QF! But of course, Andy Murray had to take him down. Which by the way, those calls by the empire?!

    I’m kind of disappointed that it’s again the same winners. I mean, yeah, it’s a great achievement for them, but meh.

    • I remember you being a Pospisil fan 🙂 He had a really good run. I was surprised that Gasquet made it so far, if I’m honest – I thought Wawrinka would have won easily.

      On the women’s side, I was hoping Muguruza would give Serena more of a fight, but it was her first final… I was surprised with Halep and Kvitova losing so early on.

      But overall, it was an excellent fortnight of tennis!

  3. A Darker Shade of Magic is a book I’ve wanted, but maybe I’ll wait a little longer! And I had passed on A Court of Thorns and Roses, but maybe I’ll give that one a closer look 🙂

    I hope you enjoyed the rest of the tennis this weekend, Li.

    • It was a tennis-filled weekend 🙂

      Re Maas, her world-building is a bit too iffy for me to really get into the story, but I can see why her books are so popular.

      Most reviews I’ve seen of VE Schwab’s book have been glowing ones, but it didn’t quite work for me… If I did read the sequel, I’d be borrowing it from the library.

  4. Pingback: Books for July | Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

