Books for July

Can I say that July’s flown by?  That’ll be my excuse for posting this new releases post in the second half of the month.  They’re good books, though.

*

18775818Manna FrancisBLOOD & CIRCUSES (M/M paranormal romance): I was dancing around with delight when I heard there was going to be a new Administration book.  The Administration series is this online M/M futuristic/dystopian romance series, which is available for free online, but the stories have also been released for sale.  I devoured this series when I first stumbled upon it – this wasn’t exactly your standard everyday dystopian romance.  The last installment left the protagonists in a pretty good place, and I honestly thought the series had come to an end.  So this is fantastic news.  The not-so-great news is that the ebook is only coming out next year (I think), so I may bite the bullet and order the paperback.  Or I could re-read the first seven books in preparation for this…

It’s set to be a busy autumn in New London and beyond. With the ripples of the revolt still running through the European Administration, Val Toreth is slowly settling into the new flat he shares with Keir Warrick. But on orders from the very highest levels of the Administration, Toreth finds himself leaving his regular beat far behind and heading over the Atlantic to Washington D.C. Without his usual team or his authority as a Para-investigator to back him up, Toreth is caught up in a world of politics, diplomacy, and religion far outside his experience. Worst of all, he’s stuck with an unexpected and very unwanted companion on his trip. Can he keep his cool and win through when international reputations are on the line?

Back in New London, Investigator Barret-Connor is called on to deal with a case that lies outside the traditional areas of interest of the Investigation and Interrogation Division–the unexpectedly dangerous world of Europe’s music corporations. With dark secrets hidden behind the PR-groomed public façade, both his professional skills and conscience will be tested.

The eighth book in the Administration series contains the novellasInnocent Blood and For Your Entertainment, and continues the lives of now partially domesticated Para-investigator Val Toreth and somewhat harried corporate director Keir Warrick.

Out now

*

16045315Miranda Kenneally‘s JESSE’S GIRL (YA romance): Miranda Kenneally’s Hundred Oaks series is an auto-buy for me.  I’ve read JESSE’S GIRL and talked a bit about it last week.  This wasn’t my favourite of all her books, but one consistent thing that I do like about Kenneally’s books is how her protagonists aren’t always rich and privileged.

Everyone at Hundred Oaks High knows that career mentoring day is a joke. So when Maya Henry said she wanted to be a rock star, she never imagined she’d get to shadow *the* Jesse Scott, Nashville’s teen idol.

But spending the day with Jesse is far from a dream come true. He’s as gorgeous as his music, but seeing all that he’s accomplished is just a reminder of everything Maya’s lost: her trust, her boyfriend, their band, and any chance to play the music she craves. Not to mention that Jesse’s pushy and opinionated. He made it on his own, and he thinks Maya’s playing back up to other people’s dreams. Does she have what it takes to follow her heart—and go solo?

Out now

*

25719764Sean Kennedy‘s TIGERS ON THE RUN (M/M romance): Another sequel I never really expected to see, and another one I’m delighted to see released. I adored the first book, TIGERS AND DEVILS, when I read it five(!) years ago – it’s a heart-warming sports romance (with an excellent snarky narrator), with an Aussie setting that comes to life. I’m reading TIGERS ON THE RUN right now, and seeing Simon and Dec again is a whole load of fun.

Young Australian Micah Johnson is the first AFL player to be out at the beginning of his career. Retired professional football player Declan Tyler mentors Micah, but he finds it difficult, as Micah is prone to making poor life choices that land him in trouble. Nothing Dec can’t handle. He’s been there, done that, more times than he’d like to admit. Being Simon Murray’s partner all these years has Dec quite experienced in long-suffering and mishaps.

As usual, Simon thinks everything is going along just fine until his assistant, Coby, tells him a secret involving an old nemesis. Simon and Dec’s problems mash together, and to solve them, they must undertake a thousand-kilometer round trip in which issues will have to be sorted out, apologies are finally given, and a runaway kid is retrieved and returned to his worried parents.

Out now

*

16278318Ernest Cline‘s ARMADA (SF): Some people loved Ernest Cline’s READY PLAYER ONE, others thought it was an over-hyped piece of 1980’s nostalgia.  I fell firmly into the loved-it camp, so ARMADA is definitely on my to-buy list.

Zack Lightman has spent his life dreaming. Dreaming that the real world could be a little more like the countless science-fiction books, movies, and videogames he’s spent his life consuming. Dreaming that one day, some fantastic, world-altering event will shatter the monotony of his humdrum existence and whisk him off on some grand space-faring adventure.

But hey, there’s nothing wrong with a little escapism, right? After all, Zack tells himself, he knows the difference between fantasy and reality. He knows that here in the real world, aimless teenage gamers with anger issues don’t get chosen to save the universe.

And then he sees the flying saucer.

Even stranger, the alien ship he’s staring at is straight out of the videogame he plays every night, a hugely popular online flight simulator called Armada—in which gamers just happen to be protecting the earth from alien invaders.

No, Zack hasn’t lost his mind. As impossible as it seems, what he’s seeing is all too real. And his skills—as well as those of millions of gamers across the world—are going to be needed to save the earth from what’s about to befall it.

It’s Zack’s chance, at last, to play the hero. But even through the terror and exhilaration, he can’t help thinking back to all those science-fiction stories he grew up with, and wondering: Doesn’t something about this scenario seem a little…familiar?

At once gleefully embracing and brilliantly subverting science-fiction conventions as only Ernest Cline could, Armada is a rollicking, surprising thriller, a classic coming of age adventure, and an alien invasion tale like nothing you’ve ever read before—one whose every page is infused with the pop-culture savvy that has helped make Ready Player One a phenomenon.

Out now

*

25686927Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy‘s HIM (M/M new adult romance): I’m always up for a surprise release by two of my favourite authors (yes, I got around to reading Elle Kennedy’s NAs and am now stalking her updates for when the next book will come out).  I’ve heard good things about this one.

They don’t play for the same team. Or do they?

Jamie Canning has never been able to figure out how he lost his closest friend. Four years ago, his tattooed, wise-cracking, rule-breaking roommate cut him off without an explanation. So what if things got a little weird on the last night of hockey camp the summer they were eighteen? It was just a little drunken foolishness. Nobody died.

Ryan Wesley’s biggest regret is coaxing his very straight friend into a bet that pushed the boundaries of their relationship. Now, with their college teams set to face off at the national championship, he’ll finally get a chance to apologize. But all it takes is one look at his longtime crush, and the ache is stronger than ever.

Jamie has waited a long time for answers, but walks away with only more questions—can one night of sex ruin a friendship? If not, how about six more weeks of it? When Wesley turns up to coach alongside Jamie for one more hot summer at camp, Jamie has a few things to discover about his old friend…and a big one to learn about himself.

Warning: contains sexual situations, skinnydipping, shenanigans in an SUV and proof that coming out to your family on social media is a dicey proposition.

Out July 28

7 thoughts on “Books for July

  1. I’ve been looking forward to HIM!! Can’t wait to read it 🙂 it’s a good idea that the two authors got 😛

    I finally read Jesse’s Girl and I enjoyed it a lot. It wasn’t as deep as Breathe, Annie, Breathe… but at the same time, it suited my mood perfectly 🙂

    • I just finished HIM – having good book hangover now. JESSE’S GIRL was a fun read, agree it didn’t have the same depth as ANNIE, but something you don’t need depth 😉

      (Also am trying to comment on your RWA post, but Blogger really doesn’t like me… It looks like you had so much fun in NYC! The signing photos especially look amazing – I’d have spent so much money.)

      • I was wondering why you hadn’t comment ^_^; Ugh, stupid blogger. Does it eat your comment? I find that sometimes, the first time, it eats my comment. So I’ve taken the habit of copy pasting…

        NYC was a lot of fun 🙂 The thing about the literacy signing is that I knew I was going to publisher signings where the books were free. So I really reined myself in.

      • Hey Nath – no, Blogger doesn’t eat my comment, but when I hit Publish, it just goes back to the comment form. I even switched browsers and it still didn’t work. Arrgghhh. This was happening a few months ago as well, but then got fixed somehow – I’m going to have to check if I changed anything recently setting-wise.

        I guess you’re lucky you drove down to NYC, instead of flying 😉

  2. Hey Li,

    it does that even for me. What I do is copy my comment before hitting publish and if it doesn’t show, then I paste my comment again and hit publish. it usually works. I think it has something to do with login or whatevs.

    Oh yeah, definite plus of driving instead of flying.

Leave a Reply

