Books for December

It’s a quieter month for new releases (in comparison to the previous couple of months, that is), but I’m really looking forward to these new releases – hopefully I’ll get a few chances to sneak away and finish these before Christmas…

*
25339379Mercedes Lackey‘s CRUCIBLE (fantasy): It wouldn’t be December without a new Lackey-edited anthology, and this time, she’s back to Valdemar!  Sorry, I had to add an exclamation mark as Valdemar will always be one of my favourite fantasy worlds.  I’ll be honest and say that I’ve found the stories in these anthologies a bit hit-or-miss, but it is the land of Heralds and Companions.

In March 1987, Mercedes Lackey, a young author from Oklahoma, published her first novel, Arrows of the Queen. No one could have envisioned that this modest book about a magical land called Valdemar would be the beginning of a fantasy masterwork series that would span decades and include more than two dozen titles.

Now the voices of other authors add their own special touches to the ancient land where Heralds “Chosen” from all walks of life by magical horse-like Companions patrol their ancient kingdom, dispensing justice, facing adversaries, and protecting their monarch and country from whatever threatens. Trained rigorously by the Herald’s Collegium, these special protectors each have extraordinary Gifts: Mindspeaking, FarSeeing, FarSpeaking, Empathy, Firestarting and ForeSeeing, and are bonded for life with their mysterious Companions. Travel with these astounding adventurers in these original stories.

Out now

*

25761086Genevieve Cogman‘s THE MASKED CITY (fantasy): I thoroughly enjoyed Genevieve Cogman’s debut THE INVISIBLE LIBRARY when I read it earlier this year, and snapped up THE MASKED CITY as soon as it went on sale.  I’m halfway through the book at the moment, and liking this very fun take on alternate-Venice very much.

Librarian-spy Irene is working undercover in an alternative London when her assistant Kai goes missing. She discovers he’s been kidnapped by the fae faction and the repercussions could be fatal. Not just for Kai, but for whole worlds.

Kai’s dragon heritage means he has powerful allies, but also powerful enemies in the form of the fae. With this act of aggression, the fae are determined to trigger a war between their people – and the forces of order and chaos themselves.

Irene’s mission to save Kai and avert Armageddon will take her to a dark, alternate Venice where it’s always Carnival. Here Irene will be forced to blackmail, fast talk, and fight. Or face death.

Out now (UK only, sorry!  I think the US release for the first two books is scheduled for 2016)

*

26009556LB Gregg‘s WITH THIS BLING (M/M contemporary romance): I was reminded of how much I liked LB Gregg’s writing when I finally got around to reading her recent(-ish) release HOW I MET YOUR FATHER.  I’m not normally a fan of May/December romances, but she made the relationship believable (and funny!), even when working within the constraints of a novella-length story.  So I’m looking forward to her latest installment in her Romano/Albright series.

Caesar Romano’s catering career is doing better than he’d ever dreamed. And so is his love life—even if his boyfriend’s house in Staten Island is way too far from civilization for his liking. But then in short order, Caesar is duped into helping his cousin propose, is tricked by his best friend and business partner into appearing on live television, and is harassed by a thug-like personal trainer and his far too beautiful wife. In fact, Caesar is almost too busy to notice that something is troubling his PI boyfriend, Dan Albright.

Almost.

Laid-back, open, charming—that’s the impression hunky former NYPD Detective Dan Albright gives everyone. Caesar can add sexually adventurous and a bit of an exhibitionist. But he also knows that Dan is hiding something—something dark and a little dangerous—and when Dan’s silence over his mysterious past threatens to harm them both, it’s Caesar’s turn to save the day.

But then again, a break-in, a gallery party, an heirloom ring, a new suit, and a stalker with bad BO are all just a typical week for Caesar Romano.

Out Dec 7

*
25241403KJ CharlesA SEDITIOUS AFFAIR (M/M historical romance): I love KJ Charles’s writing, and I’ve loved the previous stories in this series.  She always creates this sizzling chemistry between the main leads, and the historical setting isn’t just period wallpaper.  This book will be shooting right up to the top of my to-read list on release date.

K. J. Charles turns up the heat in her new Society of Gentlemen novel, as two lovers face off in a sensual duel that challenges their deepest beliefs.
 
Silas Mason has no illusions about himself. He’s not lovable, or even likable. He’s an overbearing idealist, a Radical bookseller and pamphleteer who lives for revolution . . . and for Wednesday nights. Every week he meets anonymously with the same man, in whom Silas has discovered the ideal meld of intellectual companionship and absolute obedience to his sexual commands. But unbeknownst to Silas, his closest friend is also his greatest enemy, with the power to see him hanged—or spare his life.

A loyal, well-born gentleman official, Dominic Frey is torn apart by his affair with Silas. By the light of day, he cannot fathom the intoxicating lust that drives him to meet with the Radical week after week. In the bedroom, everything else falls away. Their needs match, and they are united by sympathy for each other’s deepest vulnerabilities. But when Silas’s politics earn him a death sentence, desire clashes with duty, and Dominic finds himself doing everything he can to save the man who stole his heart.

Out Dec 15

*

Also on my radar:

  • Ilona Andrews‘ surprise novella, MAGIC STARS.  No idea when the actual release date is (or even a plot synopsis), but I’m expecting (or hoping for?) a December one.  It has Derek and Julie, and that’s all I know.  Totally buying though.
  • Jayne Ann Krentz‘s SECRET SISTERS – she’s one of those authors I can’t just quit, even if I haven’t loved her recent romantic suspense books.  Probably one I’ll try and borrow from the library though.
13 thoughts on “Books for December

  1. I just read the snippet from Ilona Andrews about Magic Stars. EXCITED!!! As for Mercedes, I definitely have to read that one because I love that series too. Jayne Krentz – Secret Sisters I’d probably borrow. I read it and it was enjoyable but no real “wow” I had to read the book.

    • I just saw she’s expecting MAGIC STARS to be out by Christmas – hurray!

      I guess we’re Valdemar diehards 😉

      And thanks for the JAK info. Putting in my library request now…

  2. I just found out about Magic Stars this week (maybe from you on Goodreads, Li!) Excited for it to come out and I hope it’s December, too. I never read very many Mercedes Lackey books so probably won’t read this one. The Genevieve Cogman books sound good so I’ll have to search for a release date.

    • I think the US get the first two Cogman books in successive months sometime in 2016 – hopefully you’ll find time to read them!

      I love the MAGIC STARS cover. Think I added it to GR earlier this week – saw it on someone else’s update feed!

  3. The masked city is DEFINITELY on my list – thanks for reminding me 😛 I’m soooo behind on my to-read list, as always. There aren’t enough hours in the day!

  4. Pingback: 2016 most anticipated new-to-me authors and their books - Notes from a Readerholic

Leave a Reply

