A Few 2015 Musings

I can’t believe it’s the last week of 2015.  Eeep.  (And yes, I’ll probably be saying something similar in 52 weeks’ time.)

For those who celebrate Christmas, I hope you had a wonderful day.  And for those who don’t, I hope you took full advantage of the long weekend (and possibly the sales? I know I did *clears throat*).

I’ve started pulling together my 2015 reading stats (geek alert!) and while I always wait until January for my annual “best of” posts (because I may just read that perfect book on the 31st), a couple of things have already jumped out at me.

20560137Firstly, I’ve not been great at reading new-to-me authors this year.  In fact, I only read four new-to-me authors in the first six months of 2015.  That’s pretty poor considering that around one-third of authors I read used to be new-to-me as recently as a couple of years ago.  In a way though, I think the lower numbers this time around are because I have discovered so many new-to-me authors over the previous years and had to keep up with their releases…

24920901Secondly, the majority of my reading continues to be in the romance genre this year (with fantasy a close second still, though).  When I started blogging (way back in 2007…), romance was very definitely my first love (pun intended).  For whatever reason (okay, possibly because everything started feeling a bit same-y in romancelandia, but also because of the growth and quality of YA SFF), the number of fantasy books I read increased significantly.  It feels that I’ve returned to the romance genre now, though the subgenres I read are rather different.  Back then, it was all about the historical for me; now, there’s a lot more contemporary in the mix.

23775601Finally (and I think linked to the above!), almost half of the books I read over the year came from non-traditional publishing routes (I’m counting both self and indie-pubbed in this category).  And interestingly (to me, anyway), around two-thirds of the romance books I read fall into the non-trad category.  IMO, the e-publishing revolution removed the barriers to entry for stories that feel fresh and new, and brought me back to the romance genre.

Right, enough navel-gazing for the day. I’m keen to hear what you thought of your 2015 reading year (or 2015 in general, I’m not fussy!).  Post links if you’ve been super-organised and done your 2015 wrap-ups already!

****************

My previous annual roundups over the past few years:

2014: Favourites and year in numbers

2013: Annual wrap-up and Q&A

2012: Year in summary

 

5 thoughts on “A Few 2015 Musings

  1. I’m working on my year-end posts, too, Li. I’ve decided I need to revamp my spreadsheet of “Read Books” to make my counting a little easier. I spent way to many hours counting and re-counting and getting different numbers…lol. I need to take a look at the trends next! I have to admit I really enjoy looking numbers and trends! Both my own and other peoples. If I could figure out how to make an infograpghic that would be fun.

    One thing I do know is that I’m reading less and less romance each year. And my mystery reading is way up this year, I think.

    I look forward to more year end posts from you!

    • Oh, an infographic would be amazing! If only there was an app for that 😉

      I use Goodreads to track my reading (or I would if I’d actually logged the books I’ve read this year on GR) – it makes life a lot easier because you can export your bookshelves as a CSV file and it automatically pulls publisher, publication year etc etc. I need to get on top of my GR backlog next year!

  2. I didn’t do too well reading new to me authors in 2015 year either. Something I’m going to have to work at remedy-ing in 2016.

    When I first started blogging back in 2005 (I closed that original blog in 2010 during grad school then opened a new one in 2014 after I graduated. :P) I was all about the historical romances as well. Now I don’t really read that sub-genre at all. It’s interesting seeing how our reading tastes change over the years and what genres we tend to go back and forth with.

    • Good to know I’m not the only one! Thinking about it, one thing I should do better is stop reading authors who have jumped the shark for me… like Laurell K Hamilton or *whispers* Julia Quinn. Then I’d have more time for new-to-me authors.

      I only really read my old autobuy authors when it comes to historical romance nowadays. I do see really good reviews for newer authors such as Rose Lerner, but have not yet given them a go.

  3. Pingback: 2015: Lists and Numbers | Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

