A Few January Reads

I’m trying to keep to a every-Monday blogging schedule (bet no one noticed!), but I’ve to say that inspiration has really not struck today.

26036399The biggest book-related thought I have is wondering how I can fit in a Captive Prince re-read before the third and final book comes out next Tuesday – I am so excited about KINGS RISING.  Unfortunately, the conclusion is that I probably can’t, so I may have to hold off starting KINGS RISING until the weekend. #firstworldbookbloggerproblems

Recent reads have all been of the so-so variety… I just finished Jayne Ann Krentz‘s latest, SECRET SISTERS.  It was going pretty well… until it wasn’t.  Not wanting to spoil anyone who’s planning on reading it, but as reveal after reveal spilled out, I was left thinking ???!!!.  Let’s just say I’m glad I borrowed it from the library.

I also finished Lisa Kleypas‘s COLD-HEARTED RAKE (can you get any more generic title-wise?).  Not one of her best historicals, IMO.  Don’t get me wrong, I really liked it while I was reading it, but two weeks later, I’m struggling to remember the details.  I think the h/h setup for the second book  was probably its strongest point.

Actually, I lie about the so-so reads.  I really loved Harper Fox‘s M/M romance MARTY AND THE PILOT (ignore the cover), and it may be one of my favourite reads of 2016 (if we’re allowed to start talking favourites this early!).  It’s on the shorter side of category romance, but had so much story packed in.  Fox has a gift for conveying setting so easily, plus there was chemistry a-plenty between the two protagonists, and really, all the feels.   There is a required suspension of disbelief about a pretty major plot point, but I was happy to go along with the flow because I was enjoying myself so much.

So that’s me for this week – tell me about your latest reads?

7 thoughts on “A Few January Reads

  1. Ah, yes, that’s how I’ve felt about so many of the latest JAK books. The romance is ok, but she’s really bad at the suspense side. Overcomplicated and tedious.

  2. Pingback: 2016: My Favourite Books | Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

