Books for May

I know it’s been a bit quiet here over the past couple of months, but I feel like 2016 has been a really good year for new releases so far.  But it’s starting to calm down – there are a few books I want to get in May, but not as many as in previous months.

26067987Mary Balogh’s ONLY BELOVED (historical romance): I’ve been reading her Survivors’ Club series and enjoying it well enough, reflected by the fact I usually wait until my library reservations come through as opposed to buying.  This book wraps up the series – I’ve placed my library reservation!

From the legendary New York Times bestselling author of Only a Kiss and Only a Promise comes the final book in the rapturous Survivor’s Club series—as the future of one man lies within the heart of a lost but never-forgotten love…

For the first time since the death of his wife, the Duke of Stanbrook is considering remarrying and finally embracing happiness for himself. With that thought comes the treasured image of a woman he met briefly a year ago and never saw again.

Dora Debbins relinquished all hope to marry when a family scandal left her in charge of her younger sister. Earning a modest living as a music teacher, she’s left with only an unfulfilled dream. Then one afternoon, an unexpected visitor makes it come true.

For both George and Dora that brief first encounter was as fleeting as it was unforgettable. Now is the time for a second chance. And while even true love comes with a risk, who are two dreamers to argue with destiny?

Out now

*

29244653Ashley Gardner’s THE ALEXANDRIA AFFAIR (historical mystery): I’ve had a soft spot for Egyptian settings ever since I fell for Elizabeth Peters’ Amelia Peabody books (I’m still keeping a ear out for rumours as to her final unpublished manuscript), and I probably will pick this up at some point.

Lucius Grenville at last persuades Captain Lacey to join him in an expedition to Egypt, to visit various ancient sites. Lacey is excited to go, though torn about leaving his new family. He discovers, though, that the burgeoning market for antiquities has made Egypt’s ancient history open for plunder, bringing forth ruthless men who will not stop short of murder for the sake of a fortune.

Out May 17

*

26242354Lisa Kleypas’s MARRYING WINTERBORNE (historical romance): There’s a (unusual) historical theme to this month’s new releases for me – I felt like Lisa Kleypas’s previous book spent a lot of time setting up the Helen/Winterborne romance (and overshadowing the main relationship), so hopefully this book lives up to the promise.

A ruthless tycoon
Savage ambition has brought common-born Rhys Winterborne vast wealth and success. In business and beyond, Rhys gets exactly what he wants. And from the moment he meets the shy, aristocratic Lady Helen Ravenel, he is determined to possess her. If he must take her virtue to ensure she marries him, so much the better…

A sheltered beauty
Helen has had little contact with the glittering, cynical world of London society. Yet Rhys’s determined seduction awakens an intense mutual passion. Helen’s gentle upbringing belies a stubborn conviction that only she can tame her unruly husband. As Rhys’s enemies conspire against them, Helen must trust him with her darkest secret. The risks are unthinkable…the reward, a lifetime of incomparable bliss. And it all begins with…

Marrying Mr. Winterborne

Out May 31

*

17927395Sarah J Maas’s A COURT OF MIST AND FURY (YA fantasy): I am on the fence for this (very likely a library reservation too) – I had fun reading the previous one, but I remember the doormat-y heroine also infuriating me at times.

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

Out now

*

So not exactly a sterling month for new releases – any books you’re really excited about?

9 thoughts on “Books for May

    • Ha! I’m looking forward to it – I kind of picture Winterborne as her version of Mr Selfridge. Not sure if this TV series was aired in the States – it was a historical drama based around the Selfridges store in London and I was a big fan 🙂

  1. I agree with you, May is a quiet month this year 😦 I just put up my list of new releases and while there are a lot, there wasn’t many auto-buys.

    Is Ashley Gardner’s a pseudonym for Elizabeth Peters?

    At least, you always have the option to wait for your library 🙂 I’m debating to read the first book in the Thorns and Roses series. I still haven’t read the first Lisa Kleypas, so not going to get Marrying Winterbourne yet. Will probably read Only Beloved because it wraps up the series… In a way, I’m happy because that means Ms balogh will start a new one and I’m hoping one with a bit more of omphf

    • I think Ashley Gardner’s a pseudonym for Jennifer Ashley? She writes romance as well, but I don’t think I’ve read much (any?) of her romance.

      The Maas book had mixed reviews, IIRC – I couldn’t get into her first series at all (which is very popular!), but I stuck with this one.

      I read about Mary Balogh’s next series at Smart Bitches – sounds more angst-y if that’s possible! I’m on the fence as to whether I’ll pick up the first. Here’s the link: http://smartbitchestrashybooks.com/2016/05/interview-mary-balogh/

      • Ohhhh wow. I didn’t realize Jennifer Ashley was branching out. I did read some of her historical romance books, but not her paranormal romances. You should give her a try – well at least, give the Ashley Gardner’s a try 🙂

        My first reaction about the new Mary Balogh series: 8-books?! Why so long? Sigh. But the premise does sound interesting 🙂

  2. Nice! I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews for the SJM book. A lot of people are not taking the burning of a ship well. I’m on the fence about reading it since the ACoTaR was rather “meh” for me.

    Did you hear that Kleypas is planning to write Devil in Spring with it featuring the two character’s son from Devil in Winter? I haven’t read Kleypas in YEARS but I gotta say I’m tempted to pick-up that one.

    • I had not heard the Kleypas news! That is so cool.

      I’ve not seen any SJM reviews… and am struggling to think of the ship! I remember it took me a while to get into ACoTaR.

      • I haven’t seen any SJM reviews around the blogosphere, oddly enough. They’ve mostly been filtering through my Goodreads feed. The ship in ACoTaR was with Tamlin and Feyre, which I hear gets blown to smithereens.

Leave a Reply

