Books for June

I’d apologise for my absence, but it was a reading v. blogging thing!  I’ve just inhaled all seven books (plus a couple of short stories) of Jodi Taylor‘s madcap time-travel series.  Post to follow, hopefully, but it’s a solid recommend just in case you were wondering…

Now that I’m sadly caught up with The Chronicles of St Mary’s series, here are the June new releases I’m planning on getting – it’s a short list, but there are some good ones.

*

28817799

SUMMER DAYS, SUMMER NIGHTS, edited by Stephanie Perkins (YA romance anthology): This sounds like the perfect summer beach read (or for those of us unlikely to make it to beaches in the next few months, the perfect err… summer balcony read?).  Some big-name YA authors in this anthology, including Leigh Bardugo (loved her SIX OF CROWS) and obviously Perkins herself.

Maybe it’s the long, lazy days, or maybe it’s the heat making everyone a little bit crazy. Whatever the reason, summer is the perfect time for love to bloom. Summer Days & Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories, written by twelve bestselling young adult writers and edited by the international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins, will have you dreaming of sunset strolls by the lake. So set out your beach chair and grab your sunglasses. You have twelve reasons this summer to soak up the sun and fall in love.

Featuring stories by Leigh Bardugo, Francesca Lia Block, Libba Bray, Cassandra Clare, Brandy Colbert, Tim Federle, Lev Grossman, Nina LaCour, Stephanie Perkins, Veronica Roth, Jon Skovron, and Jennifer E. Smith.

Out now

*

28161530Sarina Bowen’s BITTERSWEET (contemporary romance): I’m excited about this new series from Sarina Bowen.  I love her writing, and I’m intrigued by lumbersexual farmers!  Also, we debated the covers at Nath’s – mixed reaction to the covers themselves, but everyone’s getting the books…

If you can’t stand the heat, get out of the orchard.

The last person Griffin Shipley expects to find stuck in a ditch on his Vermont country road is his ex-hookup. Five years ago they’d shared a couple of steamy nights together. But that was a lifetime ago.

At twenty-seven, Griff is now the accidental patriarch of his family farm. Even his enormous shoulders feel the strain of supporting his mother, three siblings and a dotty grandfather. He doesn’t have time for the sorority girl who’s shown up expecting to buy his harvest at half price.

Vermont was never in Audrey Kidder’s travel plans. Neither was Griff Shipley. But she needs a second chance with the restaurant conglomerate employing her. Okay—a fifth chance. And no self-righteous lumbersexual farmer will stand in her way.

They’re adversaries. They want entirely different things from life. Too bad their sexual chemistry is as hot as Audrey’s top secret enchilada sauce, and then some.

Out June 14

*

28375943Nalini Singh’s ALLEGIANCE OF HONOUR (paranormal romance): I think Nalini Singh’s referred to this one as an “ensemble book”, and it’s meant to wrap up the current series arc?  I’m looking forward to catching up with the usual suspects here.

The ‘unparalleled romantic adventure’* of Nalini Singh’s New York Times bestselling series continues as a new dawn begins for the Psy-Changeling world . . .

The Psy-Changeling world has undergone a staggering transformation and now stands at a crossroads. The Trinity Accord promises a new era of cooperation between disparate races and groups. It is a beacon of hope held together by many hands: Old enemies. New allies. Wary loners.

But a century of distrust and suspicion can’t be so easily forgotten and threatens to shatter Trinity from within at any moment. As rival members vie for dominance, chaos and evil gather in the shadows and a kidnapped woman’s cry for help washes up in San Francisco, while the Consortium turns its murderous gaze toward a child who is the embodiment of change, of love, of piercing hope: A child who is both Psy . . . and changeling.

To find the lost, protect the vulnerable – and save Trinity – no one can stand alone. This is a time of loyalty across divisions, of bonds woven into the heart and the soul, of heroes known and unknown standing back to back and holding the line. But is an allegiance of honour even possible with traitors lurking in their midst?

Out June 16

*

28348234Naomi Novik’s LEAGUE OF DRAGONS (historical fantasy): The final book in the Temeraire series!  If I’m honest, I think this series jumped the shark a while ago – the recent books have felt more like historical travelogues than anything else – but I’m obviously going to read the final book to see how the story’s wrapped up.

Napoleon’s invasion of Russia has been roundly thwarted. But even as Capt. William Laurence and the dragon Temeraire pursue the retreating enemy through an unforgiving winter, Napoleon is raising a new force, and he’ll soon have enough men and dragons to resume the offensive. While the emperor regroups, the allies have an opportunity to strike first and defeat him once and for all – if internal struggles and petty squabbles don’t tear them apart.

Aware of his weakened position, Napoleon has promised the dragons of every country – and the ferals, loyal only to themselves – vast new rights and powers if they fight under his banner. It is an offer eagerly embraced from Asia to Africa – and even by England, whose dragons have long rankled at their disrespectful treatment.

But Laurence and his faithful dragon soon discover that the wily Napoleon has one more gambit at the ready – one that that may win him the war, and the world.

Out June 14

*

30245656Eloisa James’ A GENTLEMAN NEVER TELLS (historical romance): I feel like Eloisa James has been experimenting with several formats recently and this one is a novellette set in the world of her Essex Sisters series.  I remember posting about this series way back when I first started blogging – I’ve just looked up that post, and I’m both cringing and laughing at my enthusiastic review of the books.  I’ve debated whether to link it, but why not – here’s my take on the Essex Sisters series (I am so tempted to edit that post, but have restrained – you get the warts and all version!).

A witty and sparkling Regency romance novella by Eloisa James, author of My American Duchess, linked to the bestselling Essex Sisters series

Eighteen months ago, Lizzie Troutt’s husband died in his mistress’s bed, leaving her determined to never marry again . . . and unfortunately virginal.

Eighteen years ago (give or take a few) the Honorable Oliver Berwick blackened his own soul, leaving him hardened and resolutely single.

When the chance for redemption in the form of a country house party invitation comes his way, Oliver is determined to prove himself a gentleman.

Until he breaks all the codes of gentlemanly behaviour . . . once again.

Out June 28

Any big June releases that I’ve missed?

12 thoughts on “Books for June

    • I just caught up with the most recent book a few months back. However- I just read Jayne’s review of LoD @ Dear Author, she liked it a lot so I’m now a lot more keen on reading it!

  1. Now, you gotta write a post about Jodi Taylor’s series! I need to know whether I should be picking it up or not!! LOL.

    Summer Days, Summer Nights sounds cute. I’ve been in the mood for YA lately, so I’m most likely going to pick that one and give it a go.

    Read and enjoyed Bittersweet. I hope to be reviewing it soon. I’d say though, given the tone of the book, I think I wouldn’t have gone with such a dark background. And I guess the model does fit Griffin 😛

    Did you read Allegiance of Honor yet?

    I haven’t kept up with the Temeraire series either… but like you, I’m curious about the ending! Might just do that, read the end LOL.

    • I was going to post about Jodi Taylor’s series, then I got distracted by the referendum 😉 The first book is sometimes on sale for free, I’ll keep an eye on it and let you know if the price drops.

      After reading mixed reviews, I decided to get AoH from the library. Have you read it yet?

      There’s a review at Dear Author on LoD, apparently it’s a good finish! I’ve requested it from my library as well 🙂

  2. Now you have no excuses for the Jodi Taylor series!!

    I did read AoH… and well, it’s not as exciting as the other books. She wrote this to tie up the story arc and it’s obviously Have i not waited a year for this book – and have to wait another for the next one – I probably wouldn’t mind. For those who enjoy closure, this is a nice touch.

    • Interesting, maybe that’s why there are mixed reviews! I haven’t read them in detail, but I gather some people thought it was a nice wrap-up to the current arc and enjoyed seeing the previous characters make an appearance. I get that if you’re looking for something to move the series forward, this may not be it.

      • Nah, it’s not it. I mean, there is an intrigue and some action, but it’s definitively not the focus. The focus of the book is to wrap everyone’s romance in neat, little, pretty bows. It’s not necessarily a bad thing… Basically, it’s a bit like Tangle of Need.

  3. I’m both excited and a little skeptical for Allegiance of Honor. I can’t wait to see where Singh plans to take the series, but books where she has a bit more of an ensemble don’t really work for me. I haven’t decided yet if I want to just skip Allgiance of Honor or not.

    • I’ve also heard she starts the next series arc in this book? As much as I’ve enjoyed the Psy-Changeling series, I don’t know if there is enough story for another 7/8 books.

      • Yeah I know. The last few books in the series have been hits or misses for me. I would say that if she was going to keep with the same characters there definitely wouldn’t be enough story. I’m hoping that the new story arc and new characters/places will freshen up the series. I would like to see her explore some of the tension between humans and changelings that we got a slight taste of in one of the novellas.

      • Yes! Something different would be nice. I feel like her recent books have been too formulaic. The new changeling tribes(?) she introduced the last time round were interesting.

Leave a Reply

