Personal/Politics

I try to keep this blog mostly book-related, but it seems weird not to acknowledge that we just had a once-in-a-lifetime event here in the UK. I work for an organisation that will 100% be affected by the Brexit vote, and it was a very strange morning yesterday.

You may have seen that London was very pro-Remain.  I went to bed pretty convinced that Remain would win the vote, that Friday would be a bit of a damp squib following the buildup, and we would all have a good laugh over the over-the-top contingency planning.

And then I woke up to the news that it was an Out vote; as I walked into work, David Cameron was resigning.

Wow.

Not much work got done during the morning at all. There was a lot bit of black humour, I think most people were stunned by the result and trying to figure out the implications. By mid-afternoon, the reality had settled in somewhat, and I do expect it to be pretty much business-as-usual on Monday.

Like everyone else in the UK, I’ve no idea what it means for me. There are so many ramifications, and all of them will take time to play through.  I’d be surprised if anything crystallises in the next few weeks (then again, I’ve obviously proved a failure at reading the tea leaves).

I won’t lie.  The massive uncertainty is worrying.  But there’s nothing I can do about it right now, and I don’t want to stress myself out imagining worst-case scenarios.  So let’s wait and see what happens – it will be an interesting few months, I suspect.  (And I may have to severely limit my time on social media!)

One thing I need to get off my chest before I wrap up: I find myself biting my tongue when someone says they voted without understanding the consequences. Seriously?

It doesn’t matter which way you voted, but voting on something as momentous as this without taking the time to think, or even worse, voting arbitrarily because “oh, one vote doesn’t count”? Arrrrgghhhhh.

But what’s done is done. We have to unite to move forward, and on a personal level, me ranting IRL at people is not going to help at all. So consider this my rant in a private space, and hopefully I won’t fall out with the next person who says they didn’t really think before voting.

That’s it – usual service will be resumed shortly!

4 thoughts on “Personal/Politics

  1. Hi Li!!

    It’s interesting because when the news of the Brexit broke, I was in Europe (Germany/France). Funnily, before leaving for my trip, I had not heard anything about the referendum in Canada… and then, while in Europe, everyone expected UK to remain in EU… The result was quite a shocker!!

    I’m sorry to hear your work will be affected by the Brexit. However, I think your attitude is the good one to adopt. All you can do is wait and see what happens. Everything is quite out of your control, so excessive worrying would be for nothing. And who knows how long it will take for the UK to get out…

    I always hate referendums… I live in Quebec province and they’ve tried many times to separate from Canada. I understand the reasoning behind it. However, those are ideals… it’s all theoretical. Centuries ago, it would have been fine. But nowadays, everything is too connected and intertwined for an exit or separation to happen without consequences. Joining is easy, but backing out? Pfft.

    • You were on the Continent as the news broke! Yes, I bet it would have been interesting. I think it was a real surprise to everyone.

      Politically, it’s complete chaos at the moment. No one knows what to do, even those who were pushing for Leave. They’ve backpedalled on all the key claims already, it makes my blood boil. It’s easy to promise stuff when you don’t actually have to deliver…

      I guess Quebec’s like Scotland 😉

  2. Yep, Quebec is like Scotland… every freaking major election and we’re talking about the referendum again. Sigh. even though we know it’s not viable.

    That’s the thing, though. It’s easy to talk about separation, exit. But you need a plan. And you need a plan right away. Not in a few months, weeks. And that’s the worst also – false promises. I wonder how long it’ll take for UK to really leave the EU. I predict it won’t really happen.

    Yep, was in France on Friday. Lots of people think that a referendum for France will be a hot topic during the next general election… and it could allow Marine Le Pen to gather a lot of support. Exactly what this world needs… Le Pen and Trump ^_^;;

    • That’s why the EU will make it a tough negotiation – they don’t want to encourage other countries to exit!

      I personally think we’ll end up with exactly the same deal we have now, except the UK won’t have any influence over EU regulations. I have no idea why the Leave campaign expected any differently from the EU.

Leave a Reply

