Karina Bliss’s FALL

28230419I seem to have hit the motherlode of autobuy authors this month.  (Also – four blog posts in a month?  I’m not sure what’s happening either.)

I’ve always liked Karina Bliss’s writing, but I’ve never rushed out to buy her latest releases.  I bought her self-pubbed RISE on an impulse (okay, fine, it was a weakness for rock star romances), and had a lot of fun reading it.  So when she offered me an ARC of the sequel, FALL, I was very quick to say yes please!

Keep Rage together at all costs…

Powerhouse PA Dimity Graham is off her game. Her career is everything to her and she never lets anything personal mess that up. So how can she explain getting busy between the sheets with Rage’s nice-guy drummer Seth Curran? She’s supposed to be keeping this band out of trouble, not getting into it.  But before she can put everything back where it belongs, Seth needs her help.

Faking a relationship seemed like a good idea that night, right before they fell into bed together. But standing on New Zealand soil, facing the people he disappointed to pursue his dream, Seth doubts he and Dimity will convince anyone they’re hot and crazy for each other. To his surprise, Dimity is working her magic on everyone and they’re all convinced this is the real deal. The problem is, he’s almost convinced, too.

It’s perhaps inaccurate to bill FALL as a rock star romance – Seth does rock out a couple of times (and I may have swooned alongside Dimity), but the overall story focuses more on the aftermath of events that happened in RISE. As a result, it’s less rock star, more intimate, and all about Seth and Dimity’s developing romance. There’s sizzling chemistry, a lot of denial, some pursuing, and yes, a HEA that made me smile.

Snappy dialogue and sparkling humour made the time whizz past for me (I won’t spoil it for you, but there was a LotR analogy that made me splutter with laughter). But it’s not just all light frothy romance – at its heart, FALL is about family, both the family you’re born into and the family that you create for yourself, and this added substance to the romance.

Dimity’s that rare breed in a romance novel – she’s a thoroughly alpha female, though Seth is no pushover either. I loved that Seth was confident enough to let Dimity be herself, and that Dimity wasn’t magically transformed into a new person at the end of the book. Bliss makes the most of alternating POVs here, and I had so much fun seeing Seth and Dimity through each other’s eyes.  I also appreciated the well-rounded secondary characters in the book – Seth’s family play a solid supporting role, as do the other members of the band (yes, total sequel bait, but I’ll bite).

I have to say one thing did pull me out of the story at times: Seth’s nickname for Dimity was Honey B (after she was not-so-kindly compared to a honey badger). This is purely me (and rather poor timing), but there is a contestant called Honey G on this year’s UK X Factor, and well, having my mind link the two of them is not a good thing!

Unfortunate nicknames aside, FALL was a winner for me, and I’m really looking forward to the next installment in this series – or whatever Bliss writes next.

6 thoughts on “Karina Bliss’s FALL

  1. I don’t think I’ve read any of Karina Bliss’ books but I have one of her Harlequin titles, which I grabbed during the big sale. Sounds like I should check out Rise! Will try a Kindle sample of it. 🙂

  2. Rise is a fantastic book! Zander, Dimity, and Rage first appear in Karina’s Harlequin book What the Librarian Did, which is about Zander’s brother Devin, the original bass player for Rage.

    • Hurray, another RISE fan! I love how she’s spun off this whole series. I may have read WHAT THE LIBRARIAN DID, but way back… I may have to dig through my books to see if I have a copy.

Leave a Reply

