A Rec a Post?

Who can’t wait for 2016 to be over? *raises hand*

World events aside, I’ve been struggling with a cold for the past few weeks now, and a sniffly nose isn’t the best accessory when Christmas party season is in full swing. (I may also have been struggling with a self-inflicted achy head at various points in the past month.)

Anyway, my “a rec a post” idea. I saw this somewhere (can’t quite remember where now – I don’t think it was a book blog, but it was a similar concept), where regardless of the post topic, a recommendation was included at the end.

I freely admit to not blogging that often in 2016, but I liked this idea – I am always able to recommend a book, and it’ll give me a chance to mention both old favourites and new discoveries without feeling obliged to launch into full-blown review mode.

32591947So to end the year, here’s my first rec – Beth Brower’s THE Q. Angie brought it to my attention when she reviewed it a while back, but it’s taken me this long to get around to reading it.  If you were like me and hesitant to jump in based on the very limited blurb, THE Q’s a charming fantasy with a slow-burn romance (basically, it’s my catnip), and I found it reminiscent of Eva Ibbotson’s historical romances.  Quincy St Claire’s life revolves around her great-uncle’s printing business, The Q, and she has one year to save her inheritance.  As the story unfolds, she finds out that saving The Q is much more than retaining control over the business.  While the story starts off slow, stick with it, because the pay-off’s great.

And that’s it for now (I may have to get a bit better at writing snappier recs).

If you celebrate Christmas, happy Christmas, and if you don’t, I hope you get a chance to relax and recharge your batteries for the new year over the next week or so.

7 thoughts on “A Rec a Post?

  1. Oh no, I hope you feel better soon! I have to work until the 23rd and then I’m off to Manila (literally counting down the hours until my flight). I still have stuff to do before I can leave but I can’t wait to be on vacation.

    This is such a great concept, to recommend a book at the end of the post no matter what the topic is. I also haven’t been blogging as much in 2016 which is why I’ve mostly been spending my time on Litsy (also easier to do because it’s on mobile). Good to hear that you’ve enjoyed reading The Q! I have that one on my wishlist, also because of Angie’s review. 😀

    • Have a safe flight! I’m with you – working Friday as well, but fingers crossed we get to leave early.

      I’m sure Angie sold it to a lot of people 😉 I think you’ve been having laptop problems? I’m the opposite – my phone’s been really playing up recently so it’s now easier for me to blog…

      • Oh I’m totally planning to leave early today since I haven’t even packed yet! Yeah my laptop has been acting up, it’s so annoying. Now it’s not even connecting to the wifi in our flat. 😦 I bought it right before moving to Singapore so that was in 2012, while my phone is still new because I just bought it this year when I started at my new job. How old is your phone?

  2. Pingback: 2016: My Favourite Books | Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

