Books for January

A bit late, but here are the January new releases on my radar:

33191880Sarina Bowen’s HARD HITTER (contemporary romance): Sarina Bowen’s quickly become an autobuy author for me, and she excels at sports romances.  I’ve already read this one, and it’s a solid romance.  As always, I learn something new about ice hockey – who knew fights were an actual part of the game?

He’s a scrapper in the rink, but he’s about to learn that playing nice can help you score…

As team captain and enforcer, Patrick O’Doul puts the bruise in the Brooklyn Bruisers. But after years of fighting, O’Doul is feeling the burn, both physically and mentally. He hides his pain from the coaching staff, but when his chronic muscle strain becomes too obvious to ignore, he’s sent for treatment with the team’s massage therapist.

After breaking up with her long-term boyfriend, Ari Bettini needs a timeout from men. She’s focusing only on work: rehabilitating the Bruisers’ MVP. O’Doul is easy on the eyes but his reaction to her touch is ice cold. Ari is determined to help O’Doul heal, but as the tension between them starts to simmer, they both learn that a little TLC does the body good…

Out now

*

33230173CS Pacat’s THE SUMMER PALACE (M/M fantasy romance): It may be a short story, but I can’t get enough of Laurent and Damen.  It was the perfect series epilogue.  *happy sigh*

(I obviously read this the second it downloaded onto my Kindle.)

“When all this is over, we could take horses and stay a week in the palace…”

Set after the events of the Captive Prince trilogy, The Summer Palace is a story about Damen and Laurent. It’s an epilogue of sorts to the Captive Prince series.

Out now

*

31225405KJ Charles’s WANTED, A GENTLEMAN (historical M/M romance): If we’re talking autobuy authors (and this post is full of them), here’s another.  Her historicals have proper depth to them.

By the good offices of Riptide Publishing
KJ Charles’s new Entertainment

WANTED, A GENTLEMAN
Or, Virtue Over-Rated

the grand romance of

Mr. Martin St. Vincent . . . a Merchant with a Mission, also a Problem
Mr. Theodore Swann . . . a humble Scribbler and Advertiser for Love

Act the First:

the offices of the Matrimonial Advertiser, London
where Lonely Hearts may seek one another for the cost of a shilling

Act the Second:

a Pursuit to Gretna Green (or thereabouts)

featuring

a speedy Carriage
sundry rustic Inns
a private Bed-chamber

***

In the course of which are presented

Romance, Revenge, and Redemption
Deceptions, Discoveries, and Desires

the particulars of which are too numerous to impart

Out now

30747137Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy’s GOOD BOY (contemporary romance): I’m not sure what’s up with two Bowen releases in the space of a month, but I’m not complaining.  I love her collaborations with Elle Kennedy.

Hosting her brother’s wedding for an MVP guest list is the challenge of Jess Canning’s life. Already the family screw-up, she can’t afford to fail. And nobody (nobody!) can learn of the colossal mistake she made with the best man during a weak moment last spring. It was wrong, and there will not be a repeat. Absolutely not. Even if he is the sexiest thing on two legs.

Blake Riley sees the wedding as fate’s gift to him. Jess is the maid of honor and he’s the best man? Let the games begin. So what if he’s facing a little (fine, a lot) of resistance? He just needs to convince the stubborn blonde that he’s really a good boy with a bad rap. Luckily, every professional hockey player knows that you’ve got to make an effort if you want to score.

But Jess has more pressing issues to deal with than sexy-times with a giant man-child. Such as: Will the ceremony start on time, even though someone got grandma drunk? Does glitter ever belong at a wedding? And is it wrong to murder the best man?

Caution: May cause accidental aspiration of tea or coffee. Do not read in a public place where loud laughter is inappropriate. Contains hot but hilarious hockey players, puppy cuddling and a snarky pair of underwear.

Out Jan 31

*

33650339And oh, I almost forgot to mention Andrea K Höst’s surprise New Year’s Day release, IN ARCADIA.  She very kindly sent me a copy, and it was the perfect way to start off the new year.

It’s an epilogue of sorts to the Touchstone books, and as per my Goodreads review:

Well, this was a lovely and satisfying “slice-of-life” addition to the Touchstone series.

If you wanted more than just the Gratuitous Epilogue (I know I did!), then this is the perfect read. It was so good to see Cass and the whole gang again, and I loved the quiet romance that unfolded between Laura and Gidds Selkie. Now all I want to do is re-read the entire series…

I will say this will work much better for those who have read the original trilogy, as opposed to a truly standalone read.

 

So that’s me – which January releases do you have on your lists?


randombookrec
Sharon Shinn’s SUMMERS AT CASTLE AUBURN: Sharon Shinn gets the blend of romance with fantasy just right. And this has a place on my keeper shelves.

4 thoughts on “Books for January

  1. Hi Li! I read In Arcadia and though I enjoyed it I wanted a bit more adventure! It seems I move further and further away from romance these days–which makes me kind of sad, but I’m very much a mood reader. I like romance as a small part of a fantasy, science fiction or mystery, but find books where the romance is front and center boring these days. I felt that way about mysteries when I started reading romance so maybe the pendulum will swing back!

    • I definitely read less “pure” romance nowadays, I know exactly what you mean.

      Have you read SK Dunstall’s Linesman books? Space opera-ish, with little to no romance – I’ve just whizzed through the entire trilogy in a week. It’s been a while since I’ve stayed up (too) late reading, but these books had the “just one more chapter” thing.

Leave a Reply

