Audiobook Musings (and a Question!)

Guess what? I’ve rediscovered the Overdrive app.

I used to use the app on my Kindle Fire, but then stopped using the Fire (I had one of the older versions, and it was just a tad too bulky to justify carrying it around all the time) and so I kind of forgot about Overdrive altogether.

Then my library sent a reminder recently that we could borrow ebooks via Overdrive, so I downloaded the latest version on my phone in a spare moment… and I may have gone a bit overboard with the digital borrows.  I’m finding the app really easy to use and I love that my digital holds get checked out automatically (providing that I haven’t exceeded my library allowance).

But, I digress.

I realised I could also borrow audiobooks from my library via Overdrive.

I’ve been wanting to try audiobooks for a while.  However, let’s put it this way – when doing languages at school, I almost failed the listening skills part because I just stopped paying attention.  And for a while, conference calls at work was the hardest for me because I would get distracted and drift off.  So I wasn’t keen on the idea of spending money on something which may not have worked for me.  But now that I’ve (ahem) mastered conference calls?  And I can borrow audiobooks?  Why not.

18220481I read up on audiobooks tips for a first-time user (listener?) – suggestions included trying a book you’ve read before and also choosing a good narrator (which apparently makes all the difference).

So I weighed up my choices, listened to a few samples, and landed on Georgette Heyer’s VENETIA (read by Richard Armitage).  Partly because it met the criteria above (well, I assume it does meet the second one, I’ve no other narrator to compare him to) and partly because I was inspired by Angie’s Heyer read.

It’s worked so far.  I’m about three-quarters through, and am really enjoying it!  No problems with following the plot, though this may be due to the fact I’ve read it a couple of times before…  It’s definitely an different experience listening to the story, as opposed to reading it – I hadn’t realised that Damerel pretty much assaults Venetia at their first meeting before, for instance.

But – and we finally get to my question: If you listen to audiobooks, when do you do it?  And what else do you do when listening?

My initial assumption was that I’d listen to VENETIA while commuting to work.  But I quickly realised that didn’t work for me because I don’t really have uninterrupted commute time as such – my journey to work involves a 10-minute walk, a 15-minute train journey, and another 10-20 minutes’ walking.  I considered plugging in my earphones as I make my way to the station, but I’m half-asleep at that point, and flicking through my emails during my train ride is probably as much as I can manage.  And it’s just a bit too stressful dodging other commuters on my way home to lose myself in the audiobook.

So now I’m trying to figure out how best to incorporate audiobooks into my day – I’d love to know when you listen to audiobooks!  Or if they don’t work for you either.

(And also any audiobook recs would be brilliant.)


randombookrec

SK Dunstall’s LINESMAN: This fun space opera has the distinction of being the most recent book that had me staying up way too late to read “just one more page”.  I also flew through the other two books in the trilogy in short order.

 

5 thoughts on “Audiobook Musings (and a Question!)

  1. I listen to audio books on my phone with headphones during all sorts of stuff. Walking to the train. Gardening. House work. Data entry type stuff at work. Driving.

    • I had to hem some trousers the other day (which I had been putting off forever), the time just flew past while I was listening to VENETIA. I can see audiobooks really coming into their own when I’m doing mindless tasks like that.

      And housework! I detest vacuuming. Ah yes. I may have to start wearing clothes with pockets…

  2. Pingback: Reading Updates | Me and My Books

  3. I do almost all my audiobook listening when I’m making cards. I can listen while thinking about what I’m going to make and then creating it. It seems to use different parts of my brain. I don’t use headphones very much so if my husband is around I don’t listen to audiobooks while doing housework.

    I think my favorite audiobook is The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley and I like listening to Rhys Bowen’s Her Royal Spyness series, too. I think the narrator does a good job with the different voices though since I’m not British I don’t know how good the accents are…lol.

    • Different parts of your brain! I like that. I’ve been using this meditation app on my phone recently, so my headphones are getting a proper workout.

      Thank you for the recs! I love Susanna Kearsley’s books and I suspect she’s popular enough that my library will have her – will have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

